pharmacology of BOL-148 (bromo-LSD) or LSD

ub

Hey guys

I'm a chemistry PhD student. I watched a documentary on CH and inspired by this I am in the process of designing a medicinal chemistry project with the eventual aim of discovering a compound to treat Cluster headaches.

I understand LSD and particularly the non- hallucinogenic Bromo-LSD (BOL-148) is an excellent candidate for treating CH (and is being developed by entheogencorp.com). What I can't find so far in my reading is how exactly this compound works- ie. which receptor interactions are critical in the treatment of CH and in particular, responsible for the incredible remission time from pain that we see with bromo-LSD (or LSD for that matter. I am starting to wonder if we know which receptor interactions are indeed important? This is bit of a worry as any compounds that would result from this research should be assayed against something before going into animals to determine very promising lead compounds...but what assays(???)). I've got a good idea in terms of chemistry what I want to do but I am still not sure what exactly I am looking for in the pharmacology side of things. I do understand 5-HT receptors are involved (and for LSD, the rather unselective nature in hitting these receptors is the reason why we get the rather nasty hallucinogenic "side effects")

To put the question in another way, if you had a chemist who is willing to design and synthesize a compound to hit receptors of your choosing in selective (or unselective) ways as an agonist, antagonist etc.  which receptors would you get the chemist to target and in what way for treating CH? Is there any publications you guys are aware of that deal with these questions? Would anyone know of a study with the Bromo-LSD compound where they discuss which specific receptors are being hit and in what way?