Jump to content

Recommended Posts

Wanted to give an update on my experience with Emgality. My insurance fully covered the prescription. I took the three 100 mg injections (300 mg) about 3 weeks ago. 
 

The good: I experienced no site injection reaction. I had been experiencing 2-4 attacks per day.  Within 12 hours, I began having very faint head pain around my normal times that lasted 30 minutes or so and was very tolerable. Around once a day I feel a faint headache. For me, Emgality works and has almost totally eliminated the pain. 
 

The bad: on about day 3 my left arm had pretty strong nerve pain the radiated from my left shoulder blade to my fingertips. My stomach has been upset a lot and digestion seems affected. Nausea and fatigue for several days but not really strong nausea. By week 2 these symptoms faded a bit and I’ve had some sciatic nerve pain. 
 

All in all, I‘m experiencing quite a few side effects. For me, the side effects aren’t as bad as the beast.  Since I’m episodic, I figure if I use Emgality 1 week into my cycle it might eliminate most of my worst attacks.  I can still go to work (commercial/industrial electrician) with these side effects if I take it a little easy.  The side effects are more than I expected, though it’s possible not all of them are from Emgality. 

  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

@EggMan thanks for posting! I’m glad it’s working for you. When it comes to side effects, anything seems better than clusters. I am still unsure if I am episodic or chronic, so I don’t want to take the emgality and make things worse for myself. Sounds like you have a good plan in place. I’m happy there is potential for relief from episodic clusters with this medication. Onwards and upwards :)

kat 

 

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Loading...
×
×
  • Create New...